Space Calendar 2017: Launches, Sky Events & More

LAST UPDATED Nov. 22: These dates are subject to change, and will be updated throughout the year as firmer dates arise. Please DO NOT schedule travel based on a date you see here. Launch dates collected from NASA, ESA, Roscosmos, Spaceflight Now  and others. Please send any corrections, updates or suggested calendar additions to hweitering@space.com.

Watch NASA webcasts and other live launch coverage on our Watch Live page , and see our night sky webcasts here . (You can also watch NASA TV live via nasa.gov  or YouTube .)

Find out what’s up in the night sky this month with our visible planets guide  and skywatching forecast . Spot the International Space Station, Hubble Space Telescope and other satellites in the sky above with this satellite tracker .

Nov. 23: Mercury will be at its greatest eastern elongation of 22 degrees from the sun. This is a great time to view the planet, which will be at its highest point above the horizon in the evening sky. You can spot Mercury on the western horizon after sunset. [Thanksgiving Night Sky 2017: Saturn, Mercury (& the Moon) On the Menu ]

Nov. 28: A Russian Soyuz rocket will launch the Russian Meteor M2-1 polar-orbiting weather satellite and several secondary payloads, including Earth-observation CubeSats. The mission will lift off from Russia’s Vostochny Cosmodrome at 12:41 a.m. EST (0541 GMT). 

Nov. 28: See Mercury sitting 3 degrees to the lower left of Saturn very low in the western sky for about half an hour after sunset.

Also slated to launch in November (from Spaceflight Now ):

  • SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket will launch a secret payload called Zuma from Pad 39A at Florida’s Kennedy Space Center. [Preview | Watch Live ]
  • Chinese Long March 3B rocket will launch two satellites for the country’s Beidou navigation network from Kourou, French Guiana.
  • Japan‘s Epsilon rocket will launch the ASNARO 2 radar Earth observation satellite from the Uchinoura Space Center.

Dec. 1: NASA TV will air live interviews with NASA astronaut Scott Tingle at the Gagarin Cosmonaut Training Center in Star City, Russia, beginning at 6 a.m. EST (1100 GMT). Tingle will launch to the International Space Station on Dec. 17.

Dec. 3: The full moon of December, also known as the Full Cold Moon, occurs at 10:47 a.m. EDT (1547 GMT) on Monday, Dec. 3. This will also be the only supermoon of 2017 .

Dec. 4: Orbital ATK’s Cygnus OA-8 cargo spacecraft, the S.S. Gene Cernan, will depart the International Space Station and burn up in Earth’s atmosphere. NASA TV will air live coverage of the spacecraft’s departure beginning at 7:45 a.m. EST (1245 GMT). Release is scheduled for 8:10 a.m. EST (1310 GMT). [Watch Live ]

Dec. 4: SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket will launch the Dragon CRS-13 spacecraft on a cargo delivery mission to the International Space Station from Cape Canaveral Air Force Station in Florida at 2:53 p.m. EST (1953 GMT). [Watch Live ]

Dec. 5-7: SpaceCom 2017  (Space Commerce Conference and Exposition) in Houston, Texas.

Dec. 7: A Ukrainian Zenit rocket with a Russian Fregat upper stage will launch Angola’s first satellite, the AngoSat communications satellite, from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan.

Dec. 11: A Chinese Long March 3B rocket will launch with the Alcomsat 1 geostationary communications satellite from Xichang, China for the government of Algeria.

Dec. 12: Arianespace will launch an Ariane 5 rocket to deploy four satellites for Europe’s Galileo navigation constellation. The rocket will launch from the Guiana Space Center in Kourou, French Guiana at 1:36 p.m. EST (1836 GMT).

Dec. 13: In a traditional change of command ceremony at the International Space Station, NASA astronaut and Expedition 53 commander Randy Bresnik will hand over command to Russian cosmonaut and Expedition 53 flight engineer — and soon-to-be Expedition 54 commander — Alexander Misurkin. [Watch Live ]

Dec. 14: The Expedition 52/53 crew (Randy Bresnik, Sergey Ryazanskiy and Paolo Nespoli) will undock their Soyuz spacecraft from the International Space Station’s Rassvet module at 12:12 a.m. EST (0512 GMT) and land near Dzhezkazgan, Kazakhstan at 3:32 a.m. EST (0832 GMT). NASA TV will air live coverage of the crew’s farewells and the closing of the hatch at 8:30 p.m. EST on Dec. 13 (0130 GMT on Dec. 14), followed by live coverage of the undocking, deorbit burn and landing. [Watch Live ]

Dec. 13-14: The Geminid meteor shower  peaks on the night of Wednesday, Dec. 13 and the early morning hours of Thursday, Dec. 14. Geminid meteors will be visible Dec. 7-16.

Dec. 13: United Launch Alliance Delta 4 rocket will launch a classified spacecraft payload for the U.S. National Reconnaissance Office from Vandenberg Air Force Base in California. 

Dec. 17: A Russian Soyuz rocket will launch a crewed Soyuz spacecraft to the International Space Station with members of the Expedition 54/55 crew: Scott Tingle of NASA, Norishige Kanai of the Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA) and Alexander Skvortsov of the Russian space agency Roscosmos. Launch is scheduled for 2:21 a.m. EST (0721 GMT). They will arrive at the ISS on Dec. 19.  [Watch Live ]

Dec. 18: New Moon. With the moon positioned between the Earth and the sun, the side of the moon facing the Earth will reflect no sunlight. This means the moon will look almost invisible, lit only by dim sunlight reflected off the Earth.

Dec. 19: Three Expedition 54/55 crewmembers will dock at the International Space Station at 3:42 a.m. EST (0842 GMT) after a two-day trip. The hatch is scheduled to open at approximately 5:20 a.m. EST (1020 GMT). You can watch the crew’s arrival live, courtesy of NASA TV. [Watch Live ]

Dec. 21: December solstice. For the northern hemisphere, this is the first day of winter and the shortest day of the year. In the southern hemisphere, this is the longest day of the year and the first day of summer.

Dec. 21-22: The Ursid meteor shower  peaks on the night of Thursday, Dec. 21 and the early morning hours of Friday, Dec. 22. Ursid meteors will appear in the sky Dec. 17-25.

Dec. 22: A Russian Soyuz rocket will launch from Russia’s Vostochny Cosmodrome with the Kanopus-V 3 and 4 Earth observation satellites.  

Dec. 22:SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket will launch 10 Iridium NEXT satellites from Vandenberg Air Force Base in California at 8:26 p.m. EST (0126 GMT on Dec. 23). [Watch Live ]

Dec 22: The Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA) will launch two satellites for the Global Changing Observation Mission — the “SHIKISAI” (GCOM-C) climate satellite and the Super Low Altitude Test Satellite “TSUBAME” (SLATS) — aboard an H-IIA launch vehicle at 8:26 p.m. EST (0126 GMT on Dec. 23).

Dec. 24: Japan’s SS-520-5 rocket will launch on an experimental demonstration flight from the Uchinoura Space Center with the TRICOM 1R spacecraft. The launch window is open from 8 p.m. EST to 12:15 a.m. EST on Dec. 25 (0100-0515 GMT on Dec. 25).

Dec. 29: SpaceX will launch the Falcon Heavy rocket  for its first demonstration flight from Kennedy Space Center in Florida.

Dec. 30: India’s Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle will launch its Cartosat 2ER high-resolution Earth observation satellite and the NovaSAR-S radar remote sensing satellite for Surrey Satellite Technology Ltd. of the United Kingdom. The rocket will lift off from the Satish Dhawan Space Center in Sriharikota, India.

Jan. 2: Supermoon ! The Full Wolf Moon of January coincides with the moon’s closest appreach to Earth. The moon will appear up to 14 percent larger and 30 percent brighter than usual.

Jan. 3-4: The Quadrantid meteor shower will peak overnight on Wednesday, Jan. 3 into the early morning hours of Wednesday, Jan. 4.

Jan. 18: An Atlas 5 rocket provided by the United Launch Alliance will launch the U.S. military’s fourth Space Based Infrared System Geosynchronous satellite (SBIRS GEO 4) for missile early-warning detection.

Jan. 18: Arianespace will use an Ariane 5 ECA rocket to launch the SES 14 and Al Yah 3 communications satellites from Kourou, French Guiana. 

Jan. 30: A SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket will launch the Paz satellite for Hisdesat of Madrid, Spain.

Jan. 31: A blue blood moon…or a bloody blue moon? The blue moon  will coincide with a total lunar eclipse, also known as a blood moon . It will be visible from Asia, Australia, the Pacific Ocean and western North America.

Also slated to launch in January (from Spaceflight Now ):

  • SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket will launch the SES 16/GovSat 1 communications satellite from Cape Canaveral, Florida.

Feb. 9: SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket will launch the Dragon CRS-1 spacecraft on a cargo delivery mission to the International Space Station from Cape Canaveral Air Force Station in Florida. [Watch Live ]

Feb. 13: A Russian Soyuz rocket will launch the 69th Progress cargo delivery ship to the International Space Station.

Feb. 15: A partial solar eclipse will be visible in southern South America, the Pacific, the Atlantic and Antarctica.

Also slated to launch in February (from Spaceflight Now ): 

  • A SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket will launch the SES 12 communications satellite from Cape Canaveral, Florida.
  • SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket will launch the Bangabandhu 1 communications satellite for the Bangladesh Telecommunication Regulatory Commission. 
  • NASA astronauts Joe Acaba and Mark Vande Hei and cosmonaut Alexander Misurkin of the Russian space agency Roscosmos will undock their Soyuz spacecraft from the International Space Station and land in Kazakhstan.
  • A Russian Proton rocket will launch the Blagovest No. 12L communications satellite from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan.

March 1: A United Launch Alliance Atlas 5 rocket will launch GOES-S, the second next-generation geostationary weather satellite for NASA and NOAA, from Cape Canaveral Air Force Station in Florida at 5:01 a.m. EST (1001 GMT).

March 10: A Russian Soyuz rocket will launch the crewed Soyuz spacecraft to the International Space Station from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan with members of the next Expedition crew (54S). [Watch Live ]

March 20: Spring equinox. This is the first day of spring in the northern hemisphere. In the southern hemisphere, it is the first day of fall (the autumn equinox).

March 20: SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket will launch NASA’s Transiting Exoplanet Survey Satellite (TESS) from Cape Canaveral Air Force Station in Florida. [Watch Live ]

Also slated to launch in March (from Spaceflight Now ):

  • NASA will launch its GRACE-FO (Follow-On) mission to track Earth’s gravty and water movement. It is scheduled to launch from Vandenberg Air Force Base in California as part of an Iridium commercial satellite launch on a SpaceX Falcon 9.
  • Arianespace will use an Ariane 5 ECA rocket to launch the Hylas 4 and Azerspace 2/Intelsat 38 communications satellites from Kourou, French Guiana. 
  • India’s Geosynchronous Satellite Launch Vehicle Mk. 2 will launch the Chandrayaan 2 mission, India’s second mission to the moon. 
  • A Eurockot Rockot vehicle will launch with the Sentinel 3B Earth observation satellite for the European Space Agency and the European Commission from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome in Russia.

April 15: A Russian government Soyuz rocket will launch the 70th Progress cargo delivery ship to the International Space Station from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan. 

April 18: A United Launch Alliance Atlas 5 rocket will launch the AFSPC 11 mission for the U.S. Air Force from Cape Canaveral Air Force Station in Florida.  

April 22-23: The Lyrid meteor shower will peak overnight between Sunday, April 22 and Monday, April 23.

April 25: A Russian Soyuz rocket will launch the crewed Soyuz spacecraft to the International Space Station from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan with members of the next Expedition crew (55S). [Watch Live ]

April 30: SpaceX Falcon Heavy rocket will launch the U.S. Air Force’s Space Test Program-2 mission with a cluster of military and scientific research satellites.

Also slated to launch in April (from Spaceflight Now ): 

  • SpaceX will launch a Falcon 9 rocket carrying the Crew Dragon  spacecraft from Kennedy Space Center in Florida for an uncrewed test flight to the International Space Station. 

May 1: An Orbital ATK Antares rocket  will launch a Cygnus cargo spacecraft (OA-9) to the International Space Station from Wallops Island, Virginia. 

May 5: A United Launch Alliance Atlas 5 rocket will launch NASA’s InSight Mars lander  from Vandenberg Air Force Base in California at 7:10 a.m. EDT (1110 GMT).

May 6: The Eta Aquarid meteor shower will peak early in the morning (before dawn) on Sunday, May 6.

June 21: Summer solstice. In the nothern hemisphere, this is the first day of summer and the longest day of the year. In the southern hemisphere, June 21 is the winter solstice, or the first day of winter, and the shortest day of the year.

June 27: A Russian Soyuz rocket will launch the 70th Progress cargo delivery ship to the International Space Station from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan.

Also slated to launch in June (from Spaceflight Now ):

  • Boeing anticipates its first uncrewed test flight of the CST-100 Starliner  will take place in June 2018, followed by a crewed test flight in August 2018.

July 13: A partial solar eclipse will be visible from southern Australia, the Pacific and the Indian Ocean.

July 27-28: A total lunar eclipse, also known as a “blood moon ,” will be visible from Europe, Asia, Australia, Africa, the Atlantic, the Indian Ocean and Antarctica.

July 31: A United Launch Alliance Delta 4-Heavy rocket will launch NASA’s Parker Solar Probe  from Cape Canaveral Air Force Station in Florida at 10:07 a.m. EDT (1407 GMT).

Also slated to launch in July (from Spaceflight Now ):

  • The U.S. military will launch its fourth Advanced Extremely High Frequency (AEHF) satellite aboard an Atlas 5 rocket provided by the United Launch Alliance. It will launch from pad SLC-41 at Cape Canaveral Air Force Station in Florida.

Aug. 11: A partial solar eclipse will be visible from parts of Europe, Asia, Canada, Greenland, the Atlantic and the Arctic.

Aug. 13: The Perseid meteor shower will peak before dawn in the early morning hours of Monday, Aug. 13.

Also slated to launch in August (from Spaceflight Now ):

  • A Japanese H-2B rocket will launch the seventh H-II Transfer Vehicle (HTV -7), an uncrewed cargo vehicle that will deliver equipment and supplies to the International Space Station.
  • A SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket will launch the Hispasat 30W-6 communications satellite from Cape Canaveral, Florida.
  • An air-launched Orbital ATK Pegasus XL rocket will send NASA’s Ionospheric Connection Explorer (ICON) satellite into orbit from Kwajalein, Marshall Islands. [Watch Live ]
  • A SpaceX Falcon Heavy rocket will launch the Arabsat 6A communications satellite from Kennedy Space Center’s historic Pad 39A.
  • A United Launch Alliance Delta 2 rocket will launch NASA’s ICESat-2  satellite to measure ice sheet elevation and ice sheet thickness changes linked to climate change, along with measurements of Earth’s vegetation biomass.
  • India’s Geosynchronous Satellite Launch Vehicle Mk. 3 (GSLV Mk.3) will launch the GSAT 29 communications satellite from the Satish Dhawan Space Center in Sriharikota, India, to deliver Ka-band, Ku-band and optical communications payloads.

Follow Space.com for the latest in space science and exploration news on Twitter @Spacedotcom  and on Facebook .

To source

,

Comments are closed.

Space, astronomy and science