Tag Archives | news

Liftoff_of_Vega_VV05_carrying_Sentinel-2A_large

Launch replay

Watch the replay of the Sentinel-2A launch on a Vega rocket from Europe’s Spaceport in French Guiana To source

Continue Reading
Core_and_crust_from_Swarm_small

Magnetic complexity begins to untangle

After a year in orbit, the three Swarm satellites have provided a first glimpse inside Earth and started to shed new light on the dynamics of the upper atmosphere – all the way from the ionosphere about 100 km above, through to the outer reaches of our protective magnetic shield. To source

Continue Reading
LISA_Pathfinder_electrode_housing_box_large

Free fall in a box

Space Science image of the week: The housing for a free-floating test mass on LISA Pathfinder, ESA’s new fundamental physics mission To source

Continue Reading
Sentinel-2_separates_from_Vega_small

Sentinel-2 launch timeline

On 23 June, a Vega launcher will loft the first of ESA’s dual Sentinel-2 satellites into orbit from Europe’s Spaceport in Kourou. For the mission control team, liftoff will mark the end of many months of careful preparations and the start of the mission’s first critical phase. To source

Continue Reading
Follow the launch event

Follow the launch event

Live from ESA’s Space Operations Centre in Germany: follow the event leading up to the launch of Sentinel-2A. Streaming begins at 01:00 GMT (03:00 CEST) To source

Continue Reading
SENTINEL 2A
Hissage sur Lanceur en ZLV

Watch Sentinel-2A launch

Follow the Sentinel-2A launch live from Europe’s Spaceport in French Guiana on 23 June. Streaming begins at 01:30 GMT (03:30 CEST), with liftoff scheduled at 01:52 GMT (03:52 CEST) To source

Continue Reading
Half-shells_close_large

Final days on Earth

Sealed from view and poised high: watch the timelapse of Sentinel-2A’s encapsulation and integration on the Vega rocket To source

Continue Reading

Space, astronomy and science