Tag Archives | space

Encapsulatiion GALILEO 5 AND 6

Watch Galileo launch

Galileo 9 and 10 are due for launch atop a Soyuz rocket at 02:08 GMT on 11 September (04:08 CEST; 23:08 local time, 10 September). Streaming starts at 01:48 GMT (03:48 CEST). To source

Continue Reading
solar-tornado-sdo

5-Million-Degree Plasma 'Tornado' Rages on the Sun (Video)

A giant, swirling plume of superheated plasma churned above the surface of the sun for 40 hours last week while a NASA spacecraft looked on. NASA’s sun-studying Solar Dynamics Observatory (SDO) captured dramatic time-lapse video of the solar tornado , which raged from Sept. 1 through Sept. 3. The mass of plasma “was stretched and […]

Continue Reading

Ceres’ Bright Spots – What Are They? | Improved Video

Ice? Diamonds? Salt-lick for giant nocturnal astro-worms that follow the terminator around the dwarf planet so they’re always in darkness (never photographed by NASA’s Dawn probe). NASA wants your guess: http://www.jpl.nasa.gov/dawn/world_ceres/ New Imagery of the bright spots of the dwarf planet’s Occator crater are the highest detailed to date with a resolution of 450 feet […]

Continue Reading
Andreas_in_space_large

Andreas in space

Human spaceflight and operations image of the week: ESA astronaut Andreas Mogensen’s first space experiment to purify water To source

Continue Reading
Everything's Relative: The Discovery of Space-Time (Podcast)

Everything's Relative: The Discovery of Space-Time (Podcast)

Paul Sutter is a research fellow at the Astronomical Observatory of Trieste and visiting scholar at the Ohio State University’s Center for Cosmology and Astro-Particle Physics (CCAPP ). Sutter is also host of the podcasts Ask a Spaceman and RealSpace , and the YouTube series Space In Your Face . He contributed this article to Space.com’s […]

Continue Reading

Space, astronomy and science